Monday, March 12, 2012

Association of Southeast Asian Nations

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations[4] (ASEAN  /ˈɑːsi.ɑːn/ ah-see-ahn,[5] rarely /ˈɑːzi.ɑːn/ ah-zee-ahn)[6][7] is a geo-political and economic organization of ten countries located in Southeast Asia, which was formed on 8 August 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.[8] Since then, membership has expanded to include Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam. Its aims include accelerating economic growth, social progress, cultural development among its members, protection of regional peace and stability, and opportunities for member countries to discuss differences peacefully.[9]
ASEAN covers a land area of 4.46 million km², which is 3% of the total land area of Earth, and has a population of approximately 600 million people, which is 8.8% of the world's population. The sea area of ASEAN is about three times larger than its land counterpart. In 2010, its combined nominal GDP had grown to US$1.8 trillion.[10] If ASEAN were a single entity, it would rank as the ninth largest economy in the world.

ASEAN Summit

Association of Southeast Asian Nations
Motto: One Vision, One Identity, One Community[1]
Anthem: The ASEAN Way

Seat of SecretariatJakarta
Working language
DemonymSoutheast Asian
Member states
 - Secretary-GeneralSurin Pitsuwan Thailand
 - ASEAN Summit PresidencyIndonesia Indonesia [2]
 - Bangkok Declaration8 August 1967 
 - Charter16 December 2008 
 - Total4,479,210.5 km2
2,778,124.7 sq mi 
 - 2010 estimate601 million 
 - Density135/km2
216/sq mi
GDP (PPP)2010 estimate
 - TotalUS$ 3,084 trillion[3] 
 - Per capitaUS$ 5,131 
GDP (nominal)2010 estimate
 - TotalUS$ 1,800 trillion 
 - Per capita$2,995 
HDI (2011)increase 0.742 (high) (61st¹)
Time zoneASEAN(UTC+9 to +6:30)
Internet TLD
Calling code

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting.