Monday, March 12, 2012

list of national capitals 
This is a list of national capitals in alphabetical order, including territories and dependencies, non-sovereign states including associated states, and entities whosesovereignty is disputed. Sovereign states are shown in bolded text.
Description: Niue
Self-governing in free association with New Zealand.
Amsterdam (official)
The Hague 
(de facto)
Self-governing in free association with New Zealand.
Description: Iraq
Description: Mali
Dodoma (official); mostly de facto
Dar es Salaam 
(former; some government offices remaining)
El Aaiún (declared)
The Sahrawi Republic, recognised by 82 states, claims the mostly Moroccan controlled Western Sahara. Moroccan controlled territory includes El Aaiún, and Morocco claims all Sahrawi controlled territory. The Sahrawi government resides in exile in TindoufAlgeria.[1]
Description: Guam
Special territory of Chile
De facto independent state not diplomatically recognized by any other state, claimed in whole by theSomali Republic.[2]
Description: Cuba
Jerusalem (declared, de facto)[i]
Jerusalem Law states that "Jerusalem, complete and united, is the capital of Israel", and the city serves as the seat of the government, home to the president's residence, government offices, supreme court, and parliament. United Nations Security Council Resolution 478 declared the Jerusalem Law "null and void" and called on member states to withdraw their diplomatic missions from Jerusalem. The United Nations and all member states maintain their embassies in other cities such as Tel AvivRamat Gan, and Herzliya, and do not recognise Jerusalem as the capital.[3] Many countries officially adhere to the proposal that Jerusalem have international status, as called for in the Partition Plan of 1947.[4] ThePalestinian National Authority claims East Jerusalem as the capital of a future Palestinian state.
Jerusalem (declared)[i]
Ramallah and Gaza 
(de facto)
The State of Palestine claims the territories occupied by Israel since the Six-Day War in 1967, with East Jerusalem as its capital. The proclaimed state is currently occupied by Israel and has no effective control over the territories it claims. Administration is based in Ramallah and Gaza, rather than Jerusalem. All members of the United Nations regard East Jerusalem as occupied territory, and theOrganisation of Islamic Cooperation, the Arab League, the Non-Aligned Movement and the European Union recognise it as the capital of a future Palestinian state.[5]
Description: Malaysia (official)
Description: Peru
Description: Togo
London is both the capital of England, a Country of the United Kingdom, and of the United Kingdomitself, a sovereign state.
Mbabane (administrative)
(royal and legislative)
Description: Oman
Description: Chad
De facto independent state that is recognised only by Turkey. Northern Cyprus is claimed in whole by the Republic of Cyprus.[6]
Self-governing territory of the Danish Realm
Self-governing part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Self-governing part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Plymouth [f] (official)
Brades Estate 
(de facto)
Porto-Novo (official)
(de facto)
Pretoria (executive)
Cape Town 
De facto independent state that is recognised by 88 UN member states and by Taiwan (Republic of China). Claimed in whole by the Republic of Serbia as part of its Autonomous Province of Kosovo and Metohija. Republic of Kosovo has de facto control over most of the territory, with limited control in North Kosovo.
Sri Jayawardenapura-Kotte [g] (legislative; largely de facto)
(previous capital; has some government offices)
La Paz 
De facto independent state recognised by Russia, Nauru, Nicaragua, Venezuela, South Ossetia and Transnistria. Claimed in whole by Republic of Georgia as the Autonomous Republic of Abkhazia.
Description: Fiji
Description: Republic of China (Taiwan)
A state competing for recognition with the People's Republic of China as the government of China since 1949. The Republic of China controls the island of Taiwan, its associated islands, and Quemoy, Matsu, the Pratas and part of the Spratly Islands[7] The territory of the Republic of China is claimed in whole by the People's Republic of China.[8] The Republic of China participates in the World Health Organizationand a number of non-UN international organizations such as the World Trade Organization,International Olympic Committee and others under a variety of pseudonyms, most commonly Chinese Taipei.
Description: Iran
De facto independent state, not recognized by any UN-member, but by Abkhazia and South Ossetia. Claimed in whole by the Republic of Moldova as the Territorial Unit of Transnistria.
Self-governing territory of the Danish Realm
De facto independent state recognised by Russia, Nicaragua, Nauru, Venezuela, Abkhazia and Transnistria. Claimed in whole by the Republic of Georgia as the Provisional Administrative Entity of South Ossetia.
Description: Laos
Self-governing part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Yamoussoukro (official)
(former capital; still has many government offices)
Yaren (de facto)
Country does not have an official capital; however, the government offices are in Yaren.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting.